The Sweet And Healthy Halal Cakes

By Anne Wong

In the Islamic religion, the term halal means food that is permissible. The antonym of halal is haram, which means forbidden. And there are foods distinguished as haram, including pork, blood, animal meat where the animal was slaughtered not in the name of Allah, carrion or carcasses of dead animals, alcohol, and any other food over which Allah's name was not pronounced.

Attempting to find halal foods is not as difficult as before. Many halal restaurants are certified to serve halal foods. Not only does this mean that they do not have pork and other haram foods on the dish, but that the manner the dish was prepared maintained stringently halal food preparation and cooking methods from slaughtering the animal to getting the meat to cooking it. In the kitchen, cooking utensils utilised for cooking haram foods are not utilised for the halal foods. And when the dish is served, not a single haram component can be encountered on it.

Islam followers also love having sweets when dining out. And so, halal cakes are a top pick. They come in various preferred flavours, too: chocolate, dark chocolate, apple, custard, lemon, berries either as pies, tarts, or pudding. The secret to these desserts and halal cakes is that they were made without a single drop of alcohol. In baking, alcohol is applied to make a stronger flavour and to proportion the sugariness with a certain charge. That is why there are rhum cakes, brandy cakes, and others that utilise alcohol.

So do Islam followers go minus savoring a good dessert? Definitely not. To replace the alcohol, bakers of halal cakes use apple juice and alcohol-free vanilla extract. Also, bakers usually need solid fats to make the cake, and these solid fats are usually pork fat-based. To remove this haram element, halal cakes have fruit-based solid fats instead. What a good substitute that does not forfeit the flavour at all.

Some baking components, like shortenings, may also derive from haram ingredients. To make sure halal cakes are indeed, and without question, free from haram ingredients, even the shortening can be substituted with apple sauce, pureed prunes and apple butter when making pies.

About the Author: